Tags

I love watching movies. When I was young, my father always take me to the movies. I can’t remember most of them but I remember martial arts movies, gladiators, ninjas and almost all movies of Chuck Norris and Sly Stallone (the Rambo series).

When I was in high school, my classmates would rent movies (betamax and VHS) and we would watch them in one of their houses near our school.

By the time I started working, I started collecting movies. I am glad I did not collect any on laser discs. When I was in Guam, I found a store that was closing and the owner was selling his movies on VHS on sale. Movies were $5 each. It may have been on sale but now that I think about it, $5 is a lot for old movies.

I probably have about a hundred movies in VHS and VCD/DVD. Since I no longer have a VHS player, most of my movies are now stored in boxes ready to be disposed one day.

It has been around 20 years since I bought my last movie. With Youtube and movie sites available, there’s really no need for me to spend money to buy movies that I will only watch once or twice.

I have also spent a fortune on books, mostly John Grisham and Self-Help books. I have always dreamed of having a mini-library at home. Mainly to keep the books I had since I was young. My collection includes graphic novels. Yes, Marvel, DC and Image comic books. I have about 3 big boxes full of comics but I stopped buying more than 10 years ago.

I still love watching movies and I still love reading books. But now, I do not have to spend money on these things. Thanks to our public library.

I always have ‘new’ movies to watch and books to read at home. All borrowed from the library. Every Saturday, my family stops by the library to return and borrow more books and movies. My kids have their own library cards and they are now into reading as well. Another good thing about this is that we can browse books and movies to borrow online, place them on hold and pick them up once available.

Are you into books and movies?

There’s really no need to spend money on these things. Just go to your local library and see what they can offer. Invest the money you used to spend on movies and books and you will have a better and brighter financial future.

